Search Remy Bumppo

The Best Man poster

The Best Man

By Gore Vidal

Directed by James Bohnen

Featuring Artistic Associates Greg Matthew Anderson, Annabel Armour, David Darlow, and Linda Gillum

Presented September 20 — November 5, 2006

"'Politics' is made up of two words - 'Poli,' which is Greek for 'many,' and 'tics,' which are bloodsucking insects."
-Gore Vidal

William Russell, a wit and scholar with high liberal principles, and Joseph Cantwell, an ambitious and hard-driving senator, are in a heated race for their party’s presidential nomination. Ex-President Arthur Hockstader, who loves politics for its own sake, is determined to have the final say in the selection. Gore Vidal’s play examines the nature of people who are drawn to power, and the lengths they might go to obtain the highest office in America.

This show is dedicated to the memory of Gene Janson >
Download The Best Man Field Guide >


"Spike, savage, wonderfully sophisticated... [and] brilliantly insightful ... a winner on every level" *Highly Recommended*
-Chicago Sun-Times

"[a] smart-eyed, no-nonsense, well-paced revival... Bohnen casts cleverly, and his smooth professionals do their things" *Critic's Pick*
-Chicago Tribune

"Remy Bumppo Theatre Company's consummately well-acted revival is strong enough to put this ambitious Chicago troupe on the national map"
-Wall Street Journal

"Intelligent and suspensful, The Best Man is thought-provoking entertainment for this election year" *ritic's Choice, Highly Recommended*
-Chicago Reader

Jeff Recommended


David Darlow Secreta William Russell
Annabel Armour Alice Russell
Peter Davis Dick Jensen
Lisa Stevens Catherine/Delegate
James Krag Senator Joseph Cantwell
Linda Gillum Mabel Cantwell
Greg Matthew Anderson Don Blades
Charlie Beck Arthur Hockstader
Deana Dunagan Mrs. Sue-Ellen Gamadge
Norm Woodel Senator Clyde Carlin/Delegate/Second Reporter
BF Helman Dr. Robert Artinian/Delegate/Fourth Reporter
Doug Vickers* Sheldon Marcus/Delegate
Vance Smith First Reporter/Delegate
Heather Corallo Third Reporter/Delegate

*Doug Vickers was the winner of the 2007 Joseph Jefferson Award for
 Best Cameo for his portrayal of Sheldon Marcus.


James Bohnen Director
Patia Bartlett Stage Manager
Baleigh Isaacs Assistant Stage Manager
Tim Morrison Scenic Designer
Cybele Moon Costume Designer
Lindsay Jones Sound Designer
Rich Norwood Lighting Designer
Ann Meilahn Props Designer
Alison Ramsey Production Manager